border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > New to the forum?

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 11-16-12, 08:44 PM   #1
jovamabob

Send a message via Skype™ to jovamabob
Hello from 9 Corn Snakes and 1 Bearded Dragon!

I've been looking up info here for a while and decided now my collection is getting bigger, i should make an account

Im in my 3rd year of an animal behaviour and welfare degree, and i came accross a fair few snakes. I was never scared of snakes themselves - i was terrified of hurting/scaring them though! That all changed when i essentially rescued my first corn snake, Sebastian!

About a year ago though i was in a pet shop buying fish food and saw the most pathetic little face looking at me. An employee, trying to make a sale, offered for me to hold him. He was the super friendliest but skinniest little thing and when i mentioned he was almost triangular, they whisked him off me pretty quick. They shoved a younger female at me, saying the male was moving tomorrow because he hadn't sold after being on display for 6 months. I hadn't intended on buying a snake but i didn't want him festering in some other pet shop (or worse!) so i decided to at least place a deposit on him so he had to stick around while i thought about it. The next day he came home. He was initially a fussy feeder, but when i figured out how he liked his food presented he did a lot better. A year on he's now almost 2, and still a smallish boy at 28", 95g but finally starting to put on weight and chunk out a bit!