sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > All Other Herp Forums > Aquatic forum

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 07-21-02, 04:17 PM   #1
Linds
Former Moderator no longer active

Newbie Feeder Fish Questions

Ok, I need the nitty gritty lowdown on feeder fish I have no experience with feeder fish, I have never had to feed them to anything until now, so I have very little knowledge of the subject Are they like feeder rodents in the sense that they can be good and bad (not sure how to word that properly)? I know before I was breeding my own feeder rodents I was very hesitant if I had to buy from a store, and was very particular in choosing who I purchased my rodents from, is this the same with feeder fish? Are feeder fish pretty much the same wherever you get them? Would it be better to breed my own? If so, how diffiuclt is it to breed feeder fish? What is involved? Thanks for your time and patience
Login to remove ads
Old 07-21-02, 06:31 PM   #2
Youkai

Send a message via ICQ to Youkai Send a message via AIM to Youkai Send a message via MSN to Youkai
Hi Linds,

If you have a fish that needs live fish in it's diet, then you don't have a choice! Otherwise they should be only a treat. And they should NEVER come from a store. Feeder fish are the easiest way to introduce disease into your tank. Plus, they are rarely fed or looked after in a properly in the stores.
They are bred, en mass, in rather poor conditions in most cases.

If you want to use them, I'd use convict cichlids or guppies, depending on the size of the fish you're feeding. Convicts are nice because they breed like crazy, and grow fast. So you can use them no matter what size of fish you're feeding. Who ever used the term breed like rabbits, when there are convict cichlids....?

Anyway, those are my own personal choices...both can be set up simply and are quite hardy, and breed a lot of course! Some more people might have some more ideas...