border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Boa Forums > Boa Constrictor

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-18-18, 01:57 PM   #1
TroyL

Boa feeding

I have my BCI female. Not sure what exactly she is.. Just a common BCI from what I have been told. She is 3 maybe 3.5 foot stretched out. I am currently feeding her medium sized rats every 2 weeks. She is growing really well. I am wondering if for her size and the size of food that I am feeding if I should cut back the size of the prey item or stretch out her feeding times. She seems to really be hungry every 15 days. My schedule is the 1st and 15th of every month. Just makes it easier for me to remember when I need to go get her food. Attached is a picture of her. Remember she did eat Saturday so she does still have a bit of a meal in her.

Troy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1227.JPG (91.2 KB, 73 views)
Login to remove ads
Old 09-18-18, 03:50 PM   #2
EL Ziggy
Forum Moderator

Re: Boa feeding

I'm new to boas and still figuring out a proper feeding regiment. I have a hatchling and a yearling that I'm currently feeding every 7-10 days. I'd think every 2-3 weeks would be ok for your critter but others may advise spacing out the feeding intervals or reducing the prey size. In any event that's one gorgeous boa you have.
0.1 Albino Bull Snake (She-RA)~ 1.0 Snow Bull Snake (Apollo)~ 1.0 Coastal Carpet Python (Chomper)~ 1.0 JCP (Shredder)~ 1.0 Bredl Python (S'ven)~ 0.1 JJ x JCP (Trinity)~ 0.1 Albino Carpet Python (Akasha)~ 1.0 Olive Python (Nigel)~1.0 Scrub Python (Klauss)~ 1.0 BCI (Monty)~ 0.1 BCO (Xena)
Old 09-19-18, 01:29 AM   #3
richardhind

medium rats i personally go 3 weeks with my boas with them having a higher fat content
nice looking boa