border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Boa Forums > General Boa Forum

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-06-14, 07:54 PM   #1
soad

Many questions about dumerils boa

Hello everyone! so this is my first time on any forum so bare with me.
I will be getting my first Dumerils Boa in a couple of weeks here. I did own a Ball Python before which I must say was absolutely wonderful. So some questions I have:
First off I would like to build my own cage and I was going to do so with six pieces of glass, some 2x4 and some hinges. Does anyone have any suggestions or input on if That would be good material to use or if I should take another route.
Secondly, I would like to feed my snake live out of my own preference. The only things I was worried about was hearing about rats attacking the snakes once they've reached a bigger size. Are there precautions to take in this case? any input would be great.
I was considering making the tank 5' long 2' wide and 1.5' tall. I believe that should be a reasonable size but I was wondering the best way to heat that. Once again any input would be great and thanks for your time!
Login to remove ads
Old 09-07-14, 11:04 AM   #2
metalcopper

Re: Many questions about dumerils boa

Glass does not hold heat well, I would suggest building the cage out of wood, and using a framed glass door or sliding glass for the front. The size sounds good, I wouldn't go any smaller than 5 feet. I'm not a fan of feeding live food, unless it's necessary. Frozen is a lot less trouble, and you only have to go to the pet store once in a while to stock up on frozens, rather than every week to buy live.
Old 09-07-14, 01:20 PM   #3
soad

Thank you for the response. I've seen videos of people putting air holes into the cage. Is that something that is a necessity then? Is that ventilation needed or is that a preference. And then when it comes to heating would a lamp and a heating pad do well or should I go another route
Old 09-07-14, 04:00 PM   #4