border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Boa Forums > General Boa Forum

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 10-13-13, 05:33 AM   #1
CVH

Yellow Anaconda (Eunectes Notaeus) + Care Sheet + Hi Res Pictures

Hello. My name is Christophe and I live in Belgium.

I noticed that there were some other members who keeps Yellow Anacondas so I decided to join this forum.

I have been herping for over 15 years and the Yellow Anaconda is one the most interesting species I have ever kept. This is a truly amazing animal with a great feeding response and a very feisty temperament.

A few of the most interesting facts is that they attack without first positioning themselves in a S-Coil, they just leap forward (or sideways) and bite down very hard.
When they are constricting (and even while eating) they keep 'rolling' with their prey. This is actually quite weird that they keep rolling while eating, this makes be suspect that in the wild they would eat a live prey too. (Anyone some info on this subject?).

Having almost no neck, attacking (even sideways) without coiling in a S-shape, being extremely strong and having one the most powerful bites I have ever witnessed in a snake for there size makes it quite difficult to restrain/hold them.

I have read that some people could tame them down a bit, but my male yellow anaconda just want to fight with me. Being extremely intelligent, fearless, attacking while just laying still and there pure brute power makes it a though job.

So here are some pictures of my CBB Male Yellow Anaconda and a care sheet, I don't know his age, I guess 2-3, I got this one very cheap (25€ ) at a expo from a breeder who decided to stop breeding with this species.

Tip: