border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > General Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 02-28-19, 09:17 PM   #1
07N54

Thoughts and opinions / experience?

Heyyo! I'm new to the forum and I have a ball python and a corn snake currently. I was thinking about getting my dream snake (emerald tree boa) because I have access to a 125g tank that I think would be perfect for the size of emeralds. I was just curious about the aggressiveness of emerald tree boas. I've heard mixed opinions and experiences with them. Some people have told me that if you start young with handling them frequently they won't be too aggressive and how would you go about feeding them? Would you free them frozen or lives? Etc. I figured this would be the best place to start for information on them.
Login to remove ads
Old 03-03-19, 04:50 PM   #2
Roman

Re: Thoughts and opinions / experience?

I have no personal experience with Corallus, but a friend of mine had kept a pair for some time and we were talking about his experience with them. So I have no firsthand knowledge, but I might give you some pointers.

For the size of the enclosure, I can’t tell you since I am not familiar with sizes in Gallons. If you could provide the actual dimensions it would be far more easy to comment on that. You need something tall, since ETB like to climb and rest up in an elevated position.

In my opinion an ETB is a display-only snake. They are nocturnal, only active during nighttime. So during daytime it is usually no problem to do the necessary maintenance in the enclosure. This changes dramatically during night time. The pair of my friend would strike at anything as soon as the doors would open most of the time. Have you ever seen the fangs of an adult Corallus caninus? You definitely don’t want to get bitten by that!