border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > New to the forum?

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 08-03-15, 11:47 AM   #1
AHardShaft

New to snakes and need help

Hi I am new to snakes and need help deciding on the best one for me. Like I said this is my first snake and since I am living in my fraternity house this year my college rules state my pet has to live in a 10 gallon container. Since I am living in a fraternity house (in a room away from others i should add though so my room will be very quiet) I need a snake that is good with people (or as "good" as a snake can be with people). I think I narrowed it down to a sand boa but wanted to know if anyone had any other suggestions. I will only be living in the house for a year and can upgrade to a bigger cage after it if need be.
Login to remove ads
Old 08-03-15, 12:29 PM   #2
millertime89
Forum Moderator

Re: New to snakes and need help

Old 08-03-15, 12:54 PM   #3
trailblazer295

First, welcome aboard.

Second, I believe a male hognose would be okay in a 10g for awhile. But others might correct me on that. Personally I'd put one in a larger cage as an adult but that's me. They do stay quit small compared to the females. They will also be a lot more active and visible then sand boas. I would try to give an active snake as much room as possible. They will use all the space you give them, some species are more shy about being in the open but if you clutter with plants etc then they will keep roaming feeling secure under cover and provide more entertainment.

Last edited by trailblazer295; 08-03-15 at 01:20 PM..
Old 08-03-15, 01:09 PM   #4
Minkness
Forum Moderator

Send a message via Skype™ to Minkness