border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > All Other Herp Forums > Aquatic forum

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 12-22-11, 07:44 AM   #1
Sasha2

New to fish and weighing my options..

So I am curious how much work would a 55 gal be? Do you change the water weekly? Can you tell Im a complete noob here? I also have an empty 30 gal so may start with that..

I love fish, growing up my mom had at least 5 tanks full of various kinds of fish.Ive personally only had bettas, goldfish(many deaths as well, to my shame), stuff like that in little ten gallons.But the work of cleaning a larger tank out is just daunting to me.Especially a large 55 gal.
When I start reading up on all the nitrates and ammonia levels and all, I get confused and give up.It just seems a bit over my head.We have very hard water here too, lots of mineral content, coats everything with that white stuff after awhile.
Right now I buy bottled water for our bettas from the petstore in another town, they have better water then ours.I couldnt do that for a larger tank.

So what about filters, there are so many kinds....Wow I get overwhelmed just thinking about it..Where does one start?
Login to remove ads
Old 12-22-11, 07:49 AM   #2
Jay
Bcc fanatic

Re: New to fish and weighing my options..

55g fresh waters are not hard to maintain. I do weekly water changes about %20 I have an ehiem 2217 on my 55 and a 2215 on my planted 30.
Personally I would start with yellow labs as they easy to maintain and they are more forgiving to mistakes.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jayyboy16?feature=mhee
Old 12-22-11, 07:57 AM   #3
Jay
Bcc fanatic

30g

I can't find any pics of my 55G...

Old 12-22-11, 08:10 AM   #4
Sasha2