border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Enclosure Creation Forums > General Enclosure Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 04-16-17, 08:25 AM   #1
Nutella

Humidity

Hi all. I'm pretty new to caring for snakes. I have a corn snake in one terrarium and a ball python in the other. The woman who sold me the BP told me to keep the humidity around 60%, and I have a gauge that's both a thermometer and measures the humidity in his enclosure, and I can't get it to stay about 32%. I have a big water dish, I spray a few times a day, and I just bought a $60 fogger from National Geographic that runs intermittently, and it just got done with one of its run times and the humidity is 31%. I could run it all the time, but then you have to refill it every couple of hours, and with everything else going on (work, kids, etc.), that's just not going to be possible.

So... is there anything else I can do?

The terrarium he's in is an Exo Terra with doors in front and a screen top. I have aluminum covering almost all of the top to discourage the cats from messing with it. I was hoping that might also help keep the humidity in, but it's not. I'm using this dirt and bark combo for bedding that the woman at the reptile place sold me.
Login to remove ads
Old 04-16-17, 06:24 PM   #2
trailblazer295

Re: Humidity

What is your heat source? how much of the screen is covered? All the vents in the exo terra is where your humidity is going. What is the humidity in the room? I have a exo terra with 3/4 of the top covered with a che heating the other. I have a mister that sprays twice a day. Humidity is 40-50%
Old 04-16-17, 06:30 PM   #3
Nutella

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailblazer295 View Post